fifteenaday

The best of world on a budget of €15 a day…

The (almost) final word

It’s all over, Rover

What?? You mean I can go home now?!?!

In some ways it was a blink-and-you-miss-it month, but in other ways I can’t remember being in the office and having a real job and a sleeping in the same bed each night.

Whatever way you look at it, it is safe to say it was a big, big month.

Eurostarring back to London on Thursday, I had long decided that my first non-fifteenaday treat was going to be a taxi ride from King’s Cross to home. Bliss! I was almost sad when this little treat was over! Greeted by my flattie Megs at the door with a hug, a gin and tonic (has it really been a month?!?!) and the smells of homemade cottage pie warming in the over, I have to say it was definitely wonderful to arrive home.

I’ve since been flitting around London catching up with friends and getting congratulated on managing on the budget despite their doubts.

A few days back in London (and well on my way to spending a whole month of fifteenaday budget within a week….) I have had time to reflect on the trip and the fantastic friendships and memories it has given me. Key learnings are 1) I’m more certain than ever that people are the most important thing in the world; 2) I have been amazed at how the trip has changed my perspective – I wouldn’t have previously bothered to leave the house with less than fifty euros previously, and yet when I left Slovenia with three days budget banked up, I near enough felt like a millionaire and 3) Oh my goodness, I an ordinarily a very wasteful human.

While I don’t think I’m converted to ALWAYS traveling on such a tight budget, I have definitely decided that in my travels in the future I will do one day of fifteenaday in each place I visit – It just makes you look at things differently. And now you see why the title of this blog post is “the (almost) final word” as I do intend to keep the blog going in our upcoming trip to South America.

Before I head back to reality completely, I’d like to say a huge thanks to those who followed the blog and a huge thanks to InterRailNet.com for making it possible.

Without saying, the hugest, hugest, HUUGGGGESSSSSSSST thanks goes to the wonderful people who helped me out along the way. You know who you are and I’m looking forward to repaying the favour ASAP. You’re fabulous, and my faith in the human race is utterly restored thanks to you.

xx

(FYI: Barclays Bank don’t get a thanks for blocking my cards, and I have a feeling t-Mobile won’t be getting thanked when I see my bill, either.. Whoops??)

One comment on “The (almost) final word

  1. Stephanie Neppl
    October 16, 2012

    Great stuff Katy – huge high five for accepting the challenge and rolling (or should I say biking? running?) with it. Really enjoy following your adventures! xx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
